T H E   W H I T E   H O U S E


Help Site Map Text Only

Council on Sustainable  Development

Eco-Efficiency Task Force Membership

The Eco-Efficiency Task Force membership consisted of eleven principal Council members each of whom was supported by a liaison and one or more staff persons. Thirteen additional members were added to the Task Force to increase its diversity and representation.* The Eco-Efficiency Task Force members also created a number of subcommittees to work on demonstration projects and policy papers bringing total Task Force participation to nearly 200 people. Task Force members are listed below. Participants on Task Force subcommittees are listed in Appendices C and D.

Working Group
Carol Browner
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
David Gardiner
Assistant Administrator for Policy, Planning and Evaluation
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Lea Swanson
Special Assistant
Office of Policy, Planning and Evaluation
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Scott Bernstein
President, Center for Neighborhood Technology
Ben Cooper
Vice President, Governmental Affairs
Printing Industries of America
A.D. "Pete" Correll
Chairman and CEA, Georgia-Pacific Corp.
Susan Vogt
Director Environmental Policy, Training and Regulatory Affairs, Georgia-Pacific Corp.
Patricia Hill
Georgia-Pacific Corporation

Steve Correll
Director Pollution Prevention, Georgia-Pacific Corporation

Sergio Galeano
Director Environmental Management
Georgia-Pacific Corporation

Deeohn Ferris
President, D.C. Office of Environmental Justice
Fred Krupp
Executive Director, Environmental Defense Fund
Marcia Aronoff
Deputy Director for Programs, Environmental Defense Fund
Kevin Mills
Director Pollution Prevention Alliance, Environmental Defense Fund
D. James Baker
Under Secretary, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce
John Ballard
Director Office of Sustainable Development, NOAA
U.S. Department of Commerce
Rebecca Moser
Special Assistant to the Under Secretary of Oceans and Atmosphere, NOAA
U.S. Department of Commerce
Ben Henneke
President, Clean Air Action Corp.
Herb Beattie
Director of Corporate Development, Clean Air Action Corporation
Dick Barth
Chairman and CEO, Ciba-Geigy Corporation
John Mincy
Vice President, Safety and Environmental Affairs
Ciba-Geigy Corporation
Glenn Ruskin
Manager of Federal Legislative Affairs
Ciba-Geigy Corporation
Hubert H. "Skip" Humphrey III
Attorney General, Minnesota Attorney General's Office
Lee Paddock
Assistant Attorney General, Minnesota Attorney General's Office
Barbara Freese
Assistant Attorney General, Minnesota Attorney General's Office
Ronald Brown
Secretary, U.S. Department of Commerce
Jeffrey Hunker
Senior Advisor to the Secretary
U.S. Department of Commerce
Sherri Goodman
Undersecretary for Environmental Security, U.S. Department of Defense
Carole Parker
Director Pollution Prevention Staff
U.S. Department of Defense
Howard Klee
Director Regulatory Affairs, Environment, Health and Safety Department, Amoco Corporation
Karen St. John
Washington Office, Amoco Corporation
William Hoglund
Executive V.P. (Retired)
General Motors Corporation
Dennis Minano
Vice President, Environmental and Energy Staff, General Motors Corporation
Robert J. Phillips
Director Plant Environment, General Motors Corporation

Judith Mullins
Director, Environmental and Energy Policies and Programs
General Motors Corporation

Susan Maxman
Former President, American Institute of Architects
Bob Berkebile
Associate, American Institute of Architects
Samuel C. Johnson
Chairman, S.C. Johnson & Son, Inc.
Jane M. Hutterly
Vice President, Environmental & Safety Actions - Worldwide
S.C. Johnson & Son, Inc.
F.H. "Chip" Brewer
Director of Government Relations
S.C. Johnson & Son, Inc.

Kenneth Alston
Manager of Global Product Responsibilities
S.C. Johnson & Son, Inc.

Edgar Miller
Director of Policy and Programs, National Recycling Coalition
Mike Pierle
Vice President Corporation Stewardship, Environment, Safety & Health, Monsanto Company
Mike Berezo
Director Environmental Strategy
David T. Buzzelli
Vice President and Corporate Director
Environment, Health & Safety and Public Affairs
The Dow Chemical Company
Ben Woodhouse
Director Industry Issues
The Dow Chemical Company
Jerry B. Martin
Director Corporate & North American Environmental Affairs for Operations
The Dow Chemical Company
Hazel O'Leary
U.S. Department of Energy
Dirk Forrister
Special Assistant for Policy
U.S. Department of Energy
Marc Chupka
Director Office of National Energy Policy Plan;
U.S. Department of Energy

Denise Swink
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Industrial Technologies
U.S. Department of Energy
Robert N. Stavins
Associate Professor of Public Policy
Harvard University
Tom Rogers
Former Commissioner
Santa Barbara County, California
Scott Halliday
Santa Barbara County, California
Warren Muir
Senior Fellow for Chemical Hazards Prevention
Bette Fishbein
Senior Fellow Sustainable Products and Practices
Pam Reed
Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission
Joe Youngblood
Section Manager for Environmental Technology Cooperation Program
Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission

Acknowledgments | Table of Contents

President and First Lady | Vice President and Mrs. Gore
Record of Progress | The Briefing Room
Gateway to Government | Contacting the White House
White House for Kids | White House History
White House Tours | Help | Text Only

Privacy Statement

Eco-Efficiency Task Force Report

Executive Summary


Chapter 1

Chapter 2

Chapter 3

Chapter 4



Appendix A