T H E   W H I T E   H O U S E

Energy Research and Development Panel

Help Site Map Text Only

The President's Committee of Advisors on Science and Technology
Energy Research and Development Panel

John P. Holdren (Chairman)
Teresa and John Heinz Professor of Environmental Policy
Harvard University
John Ahearne Adjunct Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, and Lecturer in Public Policy Duke University, and Director, Sigma Xi Center
Richard Balzhiser President Emeritus Electric Power Research Institute
Joan T. Bok Chairman of the Board New England Electric System
Robert W. Conn Dean, School of Engineering University of California, San Diego
William L. Fisher Barrow Chair Department of Geological Sciences University of Texas at Austin
Thomas L. Fisher Chairman, President and CEO NICOR, Inc., and Northern Illinois Gas
Robert A. Frosch BCSIA John F. Kennedy School of Government Harvard University
William Fulkerson Senior Fellow, Joint Institute for Energy and Environment University of Tennessee Former Associate Director Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Hal Harvey Executive Director The Energy Foundation
Daniel A. Lashof Senior Scientist Natural Resources Defense Council
Diana MacArthur Chair and CEO Dynamac Corporation
Lawrence T. Papay Senior Vice President and General Manager Technology and Consulting Bechtel Corporation
Donald L. Paul Vice President for Technology and Environmental Affairs Chevron Corporation
Maxine Savitz General Manager Allied Signal Ceramic Components
Laura Tyson Class of 1939 Professor of Economics and Business Administration University of California, Berkeley
Charles M. Vest President Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Virginia V. Weldon, M.D. Senior Vice President, Public Policy Monsanto Company
Robert H. Williams Senior Research Scientist Center for Energy and Environmental Studies Princeton University
Lilian Shiao-Yen Wu Member, Research Staff Thomas J. Watson Research Center IBM
John Young Former President and CEO Hewlett-Packard Co.
Panel Associates
Brian C. Elliott Vice President Northern Illinois Gas
Jefferson W. Tester H P. Meissner Professor of Chemical Engineering, and Director, Energy Laboratory Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Study Executive Director
Samuel F. Baldwin National Science and Technology Council Agency Representative


James T. Bartis RAND Corporation
Mark Bernstein Office of Science and Technology Policy
Ellison Burton Dynamac Corporation
Paul de Sa Harvard University
Miriam Forman National Science and Technology Council Agency Representative
Beverly Hartline Office of Science and Technology Policy
Rod Judkins Oak Ridge National Laboratory
David Pelly Harvard University
Susan Resetar RAND Corporation
Ambuj Sagar Harvard University
Administrative Staff
Lorraine Cox Department of Energy
Nikki Kelly National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Carol Luszcz National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Cluster Myers National Renewable Energy Laboratory

This was a Panel of twenty-one persons of diverse backgrounds and viewpoints, tackling an immensely complex subject. Inevitably, not every member of the Panel is entirely happy with every formulation in the report. But we are unanimous that the main messages and overall balance in this joint product are correct and appropriate.

Table of Contents

President and First Lady | Vice President and Mrs. Gore
Record of Progress | The Briefing Room
Gateway to Government | Contacting the White House
White House for Kids | White House History
White House Tours | Help | Text Only

Privacy Statement

Federal Energy R&D for the Challenges of the 21st Century

Energy Research and Development Panel

Letter to the President

President's Committee on Science & Technology

Table of Contents (PDF version)