T H E   W H I T E   H O U S E

The President Declares a Major Disaster Exists in the State of Wyoming (12/13/00)

Help Site Map Text Only

                              THE WHITE HOUSE

                       Office of the Press Secretary
                             (London, England)

For                            Immediate                            Release
December 13, 2000

                      EXISTS IN THE STATE OF WYOMING

     The  President  today declared a major disaster exists in the State of
Wyoming  and  ordered  Federal  aid  to supplement state and local recovery
efforts in the area struck by severe winter storms beginning on October 31,
2000, and continuing through November 20, 2000.

     The  President's  action  makes  Federal funding available to affected
local  governments  in  a  four  county  area.  The counties include Crook,
Goshen, Platte, and Weston.

     Federal  funding  is  available  to  eligible  local  governments on a
cost-sharing  basis  for  the  repair  or  replacement of public facilities
damaged  by the severe winter storms.  Federal funding is also available on
a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

     James  L.  Witt,  Director  of the Federal Emergency Management Agency
(FEMA),  named  Steven  R.  Emory  as  the Federal Coordinating Officer for
Federal recovery operations in the affected area.


President and First Lady | Vice President and Mrs. Gore
Record of Progress | The Briefing Room
Gateway to Government | Contacting the White House
White House for Kids | White House History
White House Tours | Help | Text Only

Privacy Statement