T H E   W H I T E   H O U S E

President Clinton Declares a Major Disaster Exists in the State of North Dakota

Help Site Map Text Only

                              THE WHITE HOUSE

                       Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release
December 29, 2000

                       IN THE STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA

     President Clinton today declared a major disaster exists in the State
of North Dakota and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local
recovery efforts in the area struck by severe winter storms and tornadoes
on November 1-20, 2000.

     The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected
local governments in a nine county area. The counties include Benson,
Bowman, Cavalier, Divide, Golden Valley, McKenzie, Ramsey, Towner, and

     Federal funding is available to eligible local governments on a
cost-sharing basis for the repair or replacement of public facilities
damaged by the severe winter storms and tornadoes.  Federal funding is also
available on a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

     James L. Witt, Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency
(FEMA), named Steven R. Emory as the Federal Coordinating Officer for
Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

     The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and
additional assistance and counties may be added after the assessments are


President and First Lady | Vice President and Mrs. Gore
Record of Progress | The Briefing Room
Gateway to Government | Contacting the White House
White House for Kids | White House History
White House Tours | Help | Text Only

Privacy Statement