

National Science and Technology Council (NSTC)

Committee on Technology

The Interagency Working Group on NanoScience, Engineering and Technology (IWGN)

Nanostructure Science and Technology A Worldwide Study

Prepared under the guidance of the IWGN, NSTC

Edited by R.W. Siegel, E. Hu, M.C. Roco

WTEC, Loyola College in Maryland

About the National Science and Technology Council

President Clinton established the National Science and Technology Council (NSTC) by Executive Order on November 23, 1993. This cabinet-level council is the principal means for the President to coordinate science, space and technology policies across the Federal Government. NSTC acts as a "virtual" agency for science and technology (S&T) to coordinate the diverse parts of the Federal research and development (R&D) enterprise. The NSTC is chaired by the President. Membership consists of the Vice President, Assistant to the President for Science and Technology, Cabinet Secretaries and Agency Heads with significant S&T responsibilities, and other White House officials.

An important objective of the NSTC is the establishment of clear national goals for Federal S&T investments in areas ranging from information technologies and health research, to improving transportation systems and strengthening fundamental research. The Council prepares R&D strategies that are coordinated across Federal agencies to form an investment package that is aimed at accomplishing multiple national goals.

To obtain additional information regarding the NSTC, contact 202-456-6102 or see the NSTC web site at http://www.whitehouse.gov/WH/EOP/OSTP/NSTC/

Interagency Working Group on Nano Science, Engineering and Technology (IWGN)

Chairman: Dr. M.C. Roco, Directorate for Engineering, NSF

White House IWGN Co-chairman: T.A. Kalil, Senior Director, National Economic Council, WH

Vice-chairman: Dr. R. Trew, Director of Research, DOD Executive Secretary: Dr. J.S. Murday, Chemistry Division, NRL

Members:

White House: T.A. Kalil OSTP: Dr. K. Kirkpatrick

OMB: E.L. Macris, D. Radzanowski

DOC: Dr. P. Genther-Yoshida, Dr. M.P. Casassa (NIST), Dr. R.D. Shull (NIST) DOD: Dr. R. Trew, Dr. J.S. Murday (NRL), Dr. G.S. Pomrenke (AFOSR)

DOE: Dr. I.L. Thomas, Dr. R.Price, Dr. B.G. Volintine

DOT: Dr. R.R. John, Dr. G. Kovatch, A. Lacombe (all Volpe Center)

DoTREAS: E. Murphy

NASA: Dr. S. Venneri, G.H. Mucklow, Dr. M. Meyyappan (NASA Ames)

NIH: Dr. J. Schloss, Dr. E. Kousvelari, Dr. A. Levy NSF: Dr. M.C. Roco, Dr. T. A. Weber, M. P. Henkart.

International Technology Research Institute, World Technology (WTEC) Division, Loyola College

R.D. Shelton, ITRI Director

G.M. Holdridge, WTEC Division Director and ITRI Series Editor