National Medal Winner - Philip Roth
National Millennium Time Capsule
National Medal Winner

PHOTO: Four books Roth, Philip, National Medal of Arts, 1998
William Faulkner’s As I Lay Dying and Light in August, Saul Bellow’s The Adventures of Augie March and Herzog
"In my opinion, the two most powerful, most original forces--the writers who together form the backbone, the spine of twentieth-century American fiction--have been William Faulkner, in the first half of the century, and Saul Bellow, in the second. I think you ought to select two books by each of them to stand for the greatness of their achievement. I suggest Faulkner's As I Lay Dying and Light in August and Bellow's The Adventures of Augie March and Herzog."

President and First Lady | Vice President and Mrs. Gore
Record of Progress | The Briefing Room
Gateway to Government | Contacting the White House | White House for Kids
White House History | White House Tours | Help
Privacy Statement


Site Map

Graphic Version

T H E   W H I T E   H O U S E