President Clinton Declares a Major Disaster Exists in the State of Montana (12/6/00)
                              THE WHITE HOUSE

                       Office of the Press Secretary

For                            Immediate                            Release
December 6, 2000

                      EXISTS IN THE STATE OF MONTANA

     President  Clinton today declared a major disaster exists in the State
of  Montana  and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery
efforts in the area struck by severe winter storms beginning on October 31,
2000, and continuing through November 20, 2000.

     The  President's  action  makes  Federal funding available to affected
local  governments  in  a  six  county  area.  The counties include Carter,
Fallon, Richland, Roosevelt, Sheridan, and Wibaux.

     Federal  funding  is  available  to  eligible  local  governments on a
cost-sharing  basis  for  the  repair  or  replacement of public facilities
damaged  by the severe winter storms.  Federal funding is also available on
a cost share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

     James  L.  Witt,  Director  of the Federal Emergency Management Agency
(FEMA),  named  Steven  R.  Emory  as  the Federal Coordinating Officer for
Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

     The Agency said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and
additional  assistance  and counties may be added after the assessments are


President and First Lady | Vice President and Mrs. Gore
Record of Progress | The Briefing Room
Gateway to Government | Contacting the White House | White House for Kids
White House History | White House Tours | Help
Privacy Statement


Site Map

Graphic Version

T H E   W H I T E   H O U S E