Statement by the Press Secretary: Disaster In New York (7/21/00)
                              THE WHITE HOUSE

                       Office of the Press Secretary
                             (Okinawa, Japan)

ForImmediate Release                                   July 21, 2000


     The  President  today declared a major disaster exists in the State of
New  York  and  ordered  Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery
efforts  in  the area struck by severe storms and flooding beginning on May
3, 2000, and continuing through June 30, 2000.

     The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected
local governments in a 12-county area. The counties include Albany,
Chenango, Herkimer, Lewis, Madison, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga,
Otsego, Tioga, and Tompkins Counties.

     Federal  funding  is  available  to  eligible  local  governments on a
cost-sharing  basis  for  the  repair  or  replacement of public facilities
damaged  by  the  severe  storms  and  flooding.  Federal  funding  is also
available on a cost-share basis for hazard mitigation measures.

     James  L.  Witt,  Director  of the Federal Emergency Management Agency
(FEMA),  named  Marianne C. Jackson as the Federal Coordinating Officer for
Federal  recovery  operations  in  the  affected  area.  Damage surveys are
continuing  in  other  areas, and additional assistance and counties may be
added after the assessments are completed.


President and First Lady | Vice President and Mrs. Gore
Record of Progress | The Briefing Room
Gateway to Government | Contacting the White House | White House for Kids
White House History | White House Tours | Help
Privacy Statement


Site Map

Graphic Version

T H E   W H I T E   H O U S E