President Names Alfred Cho, Arthur Jaffe, Elizabeth Neufeld, and William Lester to Serve as Members of the President's Committee on the National Medal of Science (9/19/00)
                              THE WHITE HOUSE

                       Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release                                    September 19, 2000

                         NATIONAL MEDAL OF SCIENCE

     The President today announced his intent to appoint Alfred Cho, Arthur
Jaffe, Elizabeth Neufeld, and William Lester to serve as members of the
President?s Committee on the National Medal of Science.

     Alfred Cho, of Summit, New Jersey, is Semiconductor Research Vice
President at Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies.  Dr. Cho received the
National Medal of Science for his research in 1993, and is a member of the
National Academies of Science and Engineering.  Dr. Cho received his
B.S.E.E., M.S.E.E. and his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the
University of Illinois, Urbana.

     Arthur Jaffe, of Cambridge, Massachusetts, is the Landon T. Clay
Professor of Mathematics and Theoretical Science at Harvard University.
Dr. Jaffe has had a distinguished career in research and education and has
received the prestigious Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics and
is a member of the National Academy of Science. Dr. Jaffe received a B.A.
in Chemistry from Princeton University, a B.A. in Mathematics from
Cambridge University and a Ph.D. in Physics from Princeton University.

     Elizabeth Neufeld, of Los Angeles, California, is Professor and Chair
of the Department of Biological Chemistry at the UCLA School of Medicine.
Dr. Neufeld is a member of the prestigious Institute of Medicine and
received the honor of being named California Scientist of the Year in 1990.
Dr. Neufeld also received the National Medal of Science in 1994.  Dr.
Neufeld received a Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkley.

     William A. Lester Jr., of Oakland, California, has been a Chemistry
Professor at the
University of California, Berkeley since 1981.  In 1995, Dr. Lester was a
Senior Fellow for Science and Engineering at the National Science
Foundation where he worked on issues related to under-representation of
minorities in science and engineering.  Dr. Lester has authored over 170
publications in major refereed journals.  Dr. Lester received the IBM
Corporation Outstanding Contribution Award in 1974.  Dr. Lester also
received the Percy L. Julian Award in Pure or Applied Research in 1979 and
the Outstanding Teacher Award in 1986 by the National Organization for the
Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers. Dr.
Lester is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of
Science, the American Physical Society, and the California Academy of
Science.  Dr. Lester received his B.S. and M.S. in Chemistry from the
University of Chicago and received his Ph.D. in Chemistry from the Catholic
University of America in 1964.

      The National Medal of Science was created by statute in 1959 (42
U.S.C. 1880) to recognize individuals who have made outstanding
contributions to science and engineering.  Up to twenty individuals may be
honored in any one calendar year.  Medal of Science recipients are selected
by the President's Committee on the National Medal of Science.


President and First Lady | Vice President and Mrs. Gore
Record of Progress | The Briefing Room
Gateway to Government | Contacting the White House | White House for Kids
White House History | White House Tours | Help
Privacy Statement


Site Map

Graphic Version

T H E   W H I T E   H O U S E