President Clinton Names Two Public Members to the Board of Trustees for The Social Security and Medicare Trust Funds (9/27/00)
                              THE WHITE HOUSE

                       Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release                                    September 27, 2000


     The President today announced the nomination of John L. Palmer and
Thomas R. Saving to serve as public members of the Board of Trustees of the
Federal Old-Age and Survivors Insurance Trust Fund and the Federal
Disability Insurance Trust Fund (Social Security).  They will also be
nominated to serve as public members of the Board of Trustees of the
Federal Hospital Insurance Trust Fund and the Federal Supplementary Medical
Insurance Trust Fund (Medicare).

     Dr. John L. Palmer, of Fayetteville, New York, is Dean and Professor
of Economics and Public Administration of the Maxwell School of Citizenship
and Public Affairs at Syracuse University.  Dr. Palmer was a founding
member of the National Academy of Social Insurance and served as its
President from 1997-1999.  He has been a Senior Fellow at the Brookings
Institution and the Urban Institute.  Dr. Palmer served as Assistant
Secretary for Planning and Evaluation at the Department of Health and Human
Services from 1979-1981.  Dr. Palmer received a B.A. degree from Williams
College in 1965 and a Ph.D. degree in Economics from Stanford University in

     Dr. Thomas R. Saving, of College Station, Texas, is Director of the
Private Enterprise Research Center and Professor of Economics at Texas A&M
University.  Dr. Saving serves on the Board of Directors of the Association
of Private Enterprise Education and is a Co-Editor of the journal Economic
Inquiry.  He is past president of the Southern Economic Association from
1980-1981 and the Western Economic Association from 1971-1972.  Dr. Saving
received a B.A. degree from Michigan State University in 1957, a M.A.
degree from the University of Chicago in 1958, and a Ph.D. degree from the
University of Chicago in 1960.

     The Board is comprised of the Secretaries of the Treasury, of Labor,
and Health and Human Services, the Commissioner of Social Security, and two
public members appointed by the President with the advice and consent of
the Senate.  The Board is responsible for reporting annually to Congress on
the financial status of the Old-Age and Survivors Insurance (OASI) and
Disability Insurance (DI) Trust Funds, the Hospital Insurance (HI) Trust
Fund, and the Supplementary Medical Insurance (SMI) Trust Fund.  The OASI
and DI Trust Funds provide financing for the retirement, survivors, and
disability benefits under Social Security, and the HI and SMI Trust Funds
finance the Medicare program.


President and First Lady | Vice President and Mrs. Gore
Record of Progress | The Briefing Room
Gateway to Government | Contacting the White House | White House for Kids
White House History | White House Tours | Help
Privacy Statement


Site Map

Graphic Version

T H E   W H I T E   H O U S E