T H E   W H I T E   H O U S E

President Names Outstanding Science Mentors

Help Site Map Text Only


Office of the Press Secretary

Contact: (202) 456-6020
September 24, 1996


President Clinton today named 16 recipients of the first Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring. The group comprises outstanding individuals and institutions which have encouraged minorities, women, and persons with disabilities to earn degrees in science, mathematics, and engineering.

President Clinton said that "these awardees will serve as examples to their colleagues and will be leaders in the national effort to train the next century's scientists, mathematicians, and engineers."

Producing the world's finest scientists and engineers for the 21st century and helping all Americans achieve basic scientific literacy are two central goals of the Administration's science and technology policy. The White House established the mentoring awards as one strategy to achieve the goal of developing a pool of highly trained scientists and engineers that reflects the nation's diverse population.

The award -- which will be administered annually by the National Science Foundation -- includes a $10,000 grant and a Presidential commemorative certificate. It is made to individuals who have demonstrated outstanding and sustained mentoring and provided effective guidance to a significant number of students at the K-12, undergraduate, or graduate level. Institutions that have enabled a substantial number of students from groups traditionally under-represented in science, mathematics and engineering to earn degrees also are eligible. Approximately 10 individual and 10 institutional awards are expected to be made every year.

The 1996 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring awardees are:


    Martha G. Absher, Duke University, Durham, NC
    Howard G. Adams, National Institute on Mentoring, Georgia
    Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA
    Diola Bagayoko, Southern University, Baton Rouge, LA
    Joaquin Bustoz, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ
    Carlos G. Gutierrez, California State University-Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA
    Janet S. Herman, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA
    Susan J. S. Lasser, Clemson University, Clemson, SC
    Melvin B. Robin, Science High School, Newark, NJ
    Walter S. Smith, University of Akron, Akron, OH
    Richard A. Tapia, Rice University, Houston, TX


    Columbia University Double Discovery Center, New York, NY
    (Kevin C. Matthews accepting)

    Dartmouth College Women in Science Project, Hanover, NH
    (Mary L. Pavone accepting)

    National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering, Inc. (NACME), New York, NY
    (George Campbell, Jr. accepting)

    New Mexico MESA, Inc., Albuquerque, NM
    (Evangeline Sandoval Trujillo accepting)

    Oregon Graduate Institute of Science & Technology Saturday Academy Program, Portland, OR
    (Kathryn G. Whitney accepting)

    University of Maryland Baltimore County, MD
    (Freeman A. Hrabowski, III accepting)

President and First Lady | Vice President and Mrs. Gore
Record of Progress | The Briefing Room
Gateway to Government | Contacting the White House
White House for Kids | White House History
White House Tours | Help | Text Only

Privacy Statement

1995-1997 OSTP Media Releases

White House Internet Service Marks First Anniversary

Recipients Of The 1997 National Medal Of Science

Fact Sheet: University-Government Partnership

Fact Sheet, National Space Policy

President Names Outstanding Science Mentors

Press Release: Bierbaum Named

Press Release: National Space Policy

Press Release - GPS Markets

Press Release - U.S. Global Positioning System Policy

White House Announces Review of GPS Policy

White House Announces Space Policy Review